As Stan Rizzo drunkenly stammered his hands across the nightstand to exterminate the appalling sound of what seemed to be a freight train forcing itself through the room, he realized that the bed he had fallen into the night before wasn’t his own.

“Can you please shut that off? I’m trying to sleep,” moaned the half-naked woman lying next to him.

“I don’t know where your alarm is, you look for it,” exclaimed Stan.  “I can’t take any more of this. My head is about to explode.”

The woman turned herself over and spread her body across Stan to search for the alarm that had been proceeding for almost two minutes now. While searching, the woman got out of bed to find the culprit of her morning agony in her pant pocket halfway across the room.

The woman was relieved to finally end the tortuous beginning of her day, “There, it’s over. Now let’s go back to sleep.”

Due to the overbearing morning wake-up call, Stan could not find it in himself to fall back asleep. Instead, he tossed and turned in a bed that was not familiar to him, trying to piece together the events of the night before.

            These kinds of mornings were not an anomaly for Stan. This was the fourth time in a matter of weeks for him to have to remember not only the name of the girl he had slept with but the actual events that took place that night.

“Are you going to back sleep,” moaned once again the hungover woman.

“I can’t, that damn alarm woke me up.”

“Well then maybe we can start act two of this show,” replied the woman.

Stan could see the desire in her seductive gaze as he contemplated going down on her until he realized what time it was.

“Oh shit, it’s already 1:30. I’m late!”

He jumped out of bed and began to search frantically for his clothes and belongings. He knew that if he couldn’t come up with a believable explanation, his wife was going to be one accusation closer to calling off their marriage.

“Janice is going to kill me. I was supposed to be there half an hour ago.”

The woman responded, “It’s a one-year-old’s birthday party, he’s not even going to remember you were there.”

“How did you know I have a one-year-old?”

She responded, “You told me, last night dummy.”

Stan began to question what else he had told her the night before. Not knowing anything about her, and she knows more than what he wanted to, positioned himself in the situation he had no intention of being in.

            Stan was extremely closed when it came to his personal life with a woman that he slept with. He wanted to make sure there was no way he could be traced back to them, or they couldn’t come looking for a man that was only willing to have a one-night relationship.

“Right, I forgot about that. What else did I tell you last night?”

The woman replied, “What do you mean? You told me a lot of things.”

Her response didn’t help Stan’s nerves.

“What kind of things? Like what I do for a living, if I was married, where I live; Those kinds of things.”

At this point, Stan was ready to leave, but he couldn’t walk out until he knew exactly what he told her about himself.

“You need to tell me everything I said to you last night about my personal life.”

“Are you fucking serious Stan,” said the woman with a hint of disgust in her voice.

“Yes, I’m fucking serious. Tell me everything now.”

She began to spill everything that had relevance to his demand. He didn’t realize that last night was the first time he had opened himself up to a woman he had never met before. The two had conversations about how Stan was falling out of love with his wife who he had just married two years before. He told her that he wasn’t ready to start a family and that he didn’t realize how hard being a husband was going to be.

“You need to forget everything I told you last night. Can you do that for me?’

Stan began to look at the numerous missed phone calls that Janice had left on his phone for the last hour when the woman took off what clothes she had left on her.

“I will if you come over here and finish what you started last night.”

The woman spread herself across the bed and waited for Stan to finish consummating their intimate one-night affair.